Cinnamon Toast Cupcakes **Not Gluten Free**

One of the first food blogs I discovered while hunting for recipes online was Lovin’ From The Oven.  She always makes such delicious and tempting treats, so when she posted this these the other day, I couldn’t resist making them myself.  If you’re into food, and you aren’t already following her blog, I highly suggest you get onto it!

I do this to make sure that I have all the ingredients.  You would be surprised how many times I go to make something, only to find I don’t have everything required.  This time though, it allowed me to see that I didn’t need all the ingredients, as I already had pre-made cream cheese frosting.  But more about that in the recipe part.
Now, onto the cupcakes.

The smell alone before I had even put them in the oven was delicious!  I could have eaten the whole mixture out of the bowl.  Seriously.  Just look how delicious it looks all mixed up!

But what you’re really waiting for is the finished product, right?  Oh okay.  Here you go then.

And now for the recipe.

Cinnamon Toast Cupcakes.

  • approx 24 paper liners for cupcake pans
  • 1 package (18.25 oz) yellow cake mix (from USA Foods)
  • 1 package (3.4 oz) vanilla instant pudding mix (from USA Foods)
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 3/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line your cupcake pan with the paper liners.
  2. Place everything –  the cake mix, pudding mix, milk, oil, eggs, and cinnamon – in a large mixing bowl. Blend with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Increase mixer to medium and blend 1 1/2-2 minutes more, scraping down the sides if needed.
    (I had a few issues with lumpy batter, which I think was the pudding mix.  Next time I would give this a quick sift before hand.)
  3. Spoon batter into each lined cupcake cup, filling it 3/4 full. Place the pans in the oven.
    (I got a bit greedy here and went a tad over 3/4.  Unfortunately they do not hold their own weight very well and ended up looking a bit like flat mushrooms.  When I put the next lot in I did the recommended 3/4 and they were perfect!  You will also get closer to 24 cupcakes when you only fill to 3/4 full.)
  4. Bake cupcakes 18-22 minutes.
    (18 minutes was the perfect amount of time for mine, but depending on your oven yours may need longer, or you could try rotating the tray at the half way mark.)
  5. When they spring back after being touched lightly on the top they are done.  If you are unsure, use a metal skewer to check that it comes out clean after inserted into the centre of the cupcake.  Place the pan on wire racks to cool for 5 minutes before taking them out.  Allow to cool completely before frosting.
Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting
  • 1 package (8 oz/224 g) cream cheese at room temp
  • 4 tablespoons butter, at room temp
  • 3 cups icing sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon(As I already had ready-made cream cheese frosting, I didn’t require the butter or icing sugar.  I simply stirred in the ground cinnamon with a butter knife and spread it on top of the cupcakes.  If you are buying cream cheese from the supermarket however, you will need to add the butter and the sugar.)
  1. Place the cream cheese and butter in a large mixing bowl. Blend with an electric mixer on low speed until combined, 30 seconds. Stop the machine.
  2. Add the confectioners’ sugar, a little at a time, blending with the mixer on low speed until the sugar is well incorporated, 1 minute.
  3. Add the cinnamon, then increase the mixer speed to medium and blend the frosting until fluffy, 1 minute more.
  4. Frost!

Hope they are as delicious for you as they were for me.
Rhi,
xoxo

One response

  1. chris

    I am looking forward to making these on the cheap. they sound yummmmmmmmmmmm

    July 11, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Leave a Reply

