Cookie Cravings **Not Gluten Free**

I’ve been craving my Cinnamon Chip Cookies for aaaages.  Actually, since I bought the cinnamon chips when I went to USA Foods.  And I finally made some, so here’s some pics and a recipe for y’all (heh).

Come to the dark side.  We have cookies.

Cinnamon Chip Cookies
(Original Recipe can be found here.  I modified it to suit me.)
Ingredients:

 

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, chopped (room temp)
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract (or more, depending how much you love your vanilla)
  • 1 egg  (room temp)
  • 1 egg yolk (room temp)
  • 1 packet Hershey’s Cinnamon Chips (from USA Foods)

Preheat the oven to 165 degrees C. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar until it becomes light and creamy. Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until light and creamy.

Fold in the sifted ingredients until just blended.

Stir in the cinnamon chips.

This is a good time for a taste test… or two… or three 😉

Use an ice cream scoop to measure out even amounts for each cookie.

Cookies should be 3 inches apart, but you can go less if you don’t have enough room.  They’ll just need to be separated with a spatula or a knife before they cool completely.

Bake for 15 to 17 minutes, or until the edges are lightly toasted. Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Be warned, these cookies are BIG!  Practically the size of my hand – although compared to other people my hands are quite small.

This recipe will make 12-14 cookies, depending on how many taste tests you have before the batter makes it to the baking tray.  And just a warning, these cookies are addictive, seriously.  You can’t just stop at one, so be prepared to slog it out on the Wii Fit if you’re going to make these… I know, I’m definitely paying for eating so many of them, but it was so worth it.

Now I just need to find a great recipe to use my Peanut Butter Chips in.  Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

