Blueberry Cheesecake! **Not Gluten Free**

Blueberry Cheesecake.  Two foods of awesomeness brought together to create a masterpiece of breath-taking deliciousness.  You heard me, breath-taking deliciousness.

I’m going to apologise now for the VERY, VERY bad quality of these photos.  They were rushed, and as such are blurred and not very well prepared.

Blueberry Cheesecake

I’d never made a baked cheesecake before, so I think all things considered,  it turned out quite well.

The shortbread base

I found the base a little frustrating… I couldn’t get the biscuit crumbs to go far enough up the side of the tin.  It still worked out alright in the end though.

The Cheesecake Filling

There’s so much of it, I honestly thought it was going to explode out of the food processor.

Half way there!

Add some berries and..

It’s ready for the oven now!  And it took a while but..

It's finally cooked!

And now it’s served.

Mmmmhmmm! Yum!

When I was shopping for the blueberry jam for the topping, I may have accidentally bought blackberry jam.  And it’s also possible that I didn’t realise until I had put it in the pan.  I may have also tasted it and not realised that it was blackberry, not blueberry.  Oops!  But, don’t worry, it still tasted Ah-May-Zing!

So, here it is!
.
.

Blueberry Cheesecake

This recipe comes from the 2010 Better Basics: Biscuits, Cakes & Slices
Page 27

Ingredients:
250g shortbread biscuits
100g walnuts (I put in an extra 100g of shortbread biscuits instead of these)
100g unsalted butter

500g cream cheese, softened
450g sour cream
220g caster sugar
4 eggs
1tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup plain flour
250g frozen blueberries

300g blueberry jam (or blackberry will also do if you can’t find blueberry 😉 )
2 lemons, juiced
Fresh blueberries, to serve (optional)

Making the cheesecake:

1. Preheat the oven to 160 degrees C.  Line a 22cm springform cake tin with baking paper.
Put biscuits and nuts in a food processor and pulse until a coarse crumb forms.  Add butter and mix well. (If you need to, you can add a bit more butter here.  The mixture should hold together when you press it together in your hands, not crumble apart.) Press into base and sides of prepared tin, and freeze for 30 mins or until firm.
2. Put cream cheese, sour cream and sugar in a food processor and pulse until smooth.  Add eggs, vanilla and half the flour.  Pulse again until smooth.  Pour into biscuit base.
3. Put remaining flour in a small bowl.  Add berries and toss to coat.  Scatter on top of the cheesecake.  Bake for 1 and 1/2 hours or until just firm. (I found I had I had to cook it for much longer than this, and near the end I ended up turning the oven off and leaving it in with the door slightly ajar for about half an hour.  It seemed to do the trick.  I also discovered that when baking with a spring form pan, you should probably sit it on another tray to catch anything that leaks out the bottom.  Unless you really like cleaning your oven.) Set aside to cool.  Remove from tin.  (At this point I was getting impatient because it was nearly dinner time and I didn’t want to wait so long for it to cool down.  So, I put it in the freezer.  Worked a treat.)
4. Put jam and lemon juice in a small saucepan and bring to the boil.  Then strain through a sieve onto the top of the cake.  Refrigerate until set (also used the freezer for this step) and serve with fresh blueberries if applicable.

Enjoy!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

