I Am Number Four (Book Review)

This book, I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore, literally had me gasping for air… because I kept forgetting to breathe!  There were times when my heart was beating so hard, so fast, and so loud, that I was sure the neighbors would come and ask me to turn the drum and bass music down.

So, let me give you a little info on this book.  It’s a sci-fi tale, but it’s set on earth.  John Smith, the protagonist, has escaped from his home planet – which is under attack from the Mogadorians – with 8 others like himself and their guardians.  3 have already been hunted down by the Mogadorians, and John is next in line.
John, and the others like him, attain certain abilities – or Legacies – when they reach their teenage years.  It is these abilities that will help John, and the others like him, to defeat the Mogadorians, and return to their home planet Lorien.  The question is though, will John be able to develop his legacies in time to save himself, and the ones he loves?

Every part of this book was written for a reason.  No unnecessary side plots that go no where.  No unnecessary descriptive passages that continue for a page and a half.   His descriptions are fantastic.  Enough details to paint the scene, but not so many that you get bored, or that you can’t let your own imagination do some of the work.  The whole way through I was questioning everything and everyone.  Are they the bad guys? Who’s a good guy? Who can you trust?

Right now, I’m sitting here in the middle of the night, typing an email on my phone so I won’t forget.  But also because I can’t stop thinking about this wonderful world he has created, and how much I want to be a part of it…  How much I want it to be real.

Maybe this book is Pittacus Lore’s “They Walk Among Us”, and maybe they really do “walk among us”.  There’s a very large part of me that hopes it is.

In case you can’ tell, I loved this book.  I’m giving 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.
If you love Harry Potter, Twilight, Heroes or Smallville/Superman, then you’ll love this.  Read it.  I promise, you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

